Bangladeshi Wins Nobel Peace Prize

13 10 2006

I wore black this morning. I wasn’t mourning, or planning to. I wasn’t trying to make a fashion statement; I don’t think I’m capable of making one. I wasn’t trying to make a point or connection with today’s day and date -Friday 13th. Either I was expecting something to happen- either good, or bad- or hoping something would. The day isn’t over yet and I’m twisted for thinking that way. Nothing new there.
However, the good came to me in the form a news headline on AOL. ‘Bangladeshi Wins Nobel Peace Prize.’ Holy micro-credit!! There was no name mentioned on the news headline, but I knew! It had to be him. And it was.
Coming from a South Asian country where people’s lives are deeply rooted in religious customs and beliefs, and where the number 13 is avoided as if it were the plague, who would have known the date would become a historic one for all Bangladeshis
around the world.  Don’t get me wrong, there are a few Bangali’s who’ve won the Nobel prize, but no one we -or I rather- can call Bangladeshi. The distinction is similar to being an American and being
a New Yorker. Trust me, New Yorkers know what the hell I’m talking about.
So, for those of you who’re thinking, “What’s the big freakin’ deal?” Well, this man was long due this award. Prize notwithstanding -and the man can fill a mid-size room with all the ones he’s received thus far – Dr. Muhammad Yunus is a man with a plan. His plan works. His plan has worked. Millions have benefited from his plan. Grameen Bank is not an idea, it’s a work in progress to eliminate poverty by assessing its levels and having a strategy that attacks the root of its existence.
If you don’t find the concept of micro-credit revolutaionary, Dr. Yunus takes his idea even further that makes a bold statement – as he’s talked about in this Charlie Rose special from 2004 –  eliminate world  poverty and live to witness it. Anyone who knows him knows
that he won’t make such a statement without a plan. So, why haven’t more influential people jumped on the concept? Have they at least reached out to him and asked him how? I’m sure some have, but why don’t we hear about them?

I’ll do my best for now and and give you links to websites you can visit. It’s a start.

ASCEND
THE NEW HEROES
ENDING GLOBAL POVERTY
The Next Steps for Micro-Credit
STANFORD’S GRAD BUSINESS SCHOOL

OTHER:
The Global Microcredit Summit (Nov 12-15, 2006)



Actions

Information




