Music To My Ears: ‘The Can’t Get Enough Of’ Selections -Pt. 1

30 01 2007

I’m sure you have your own ‘Can’t Get Enough Of’ selections. You know the ones that grab you and don’t want to leave you, the ones you keep playing and playing and playing and still can’t get enough of? Don’t fucking deny it, you have them too.

Let’s start with the latest one. Couple of mornings ago. I wake up to go to work. I usually turn on NY1 to check the weather. On my cable box it’s channel 60. 61 is VH1. I usually quickly go over to 61 to see what’s playing. I don’t have a remote so I have to reach out and use the plus and minus on the box, next to my bed. Channel 59 is static. Not much surfing possible there, you see. So…The Fray’s ‘How To Save A Life’ comes on. The piano intro and Mark Pellington’s name was enough to fuck me. I knew right away that I wouldn’t be able to function properly until I listen to this song to death (no pun intended). Yes, the same Mark Pellington who brought us Pearl Jam’s ‘Jeremy.’ As I’m writing now, the piano intro is on a loop inside my head. It will keep playing while I sleep, tomorrow when I am on the train, and tomorrow night when I sit back here again to write something else.

Please don’t write me and tell me I have a rare musical disease bordering mental collapse or something. Anyway, let me start with 3 such songs.

The Fray’s ‘How To Save A Life’

I stumbled into the following almost the same way as ‘How To Save…” NY1 weather…why not check out VH1…boom…pants down…music fucking for the next few days.

Five for Fighting’s ‘The Riddle’

Procol Harum’s ‘Whiter Shade of Pale’ happened to me in 1995. It was at a Language of Film class (Prof. Lindley Hanlon – Brooklyn College – if you must know). She screened ‘New York Stories‘ for the class and the Scorsese film started with this song. You can guess the rest.

Procol Harum’s ‘Whiter Shade of Pale’

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 01 2007
Nicole

Sorry Emon but I just don’t like that Five For Fighting song. I can’t stand his voice and I hate the video. Ok, so that’s out of the way. Now, I really really like ‘How To Save A Life.’ I’m completely out of touch with newer music and I had never even heard of The Fray. Now I have to go see if I can get the album from someone. Oh, and I’ve always liked ‘Whiter Shade of Pale.’ Ciao!

30 01 2007
emon

LOL! Is it because his last name is Fighting? Is it the crayon piano? How can you hate that song! Have you tried it playing it backwards. If you did, you’d have heard him answer the riddle…or not.

By the way, I hated the first Fray song, the one with the little kid who looks like the singer. Yes…’Over My Head.’

30 01 2007
Nicole

Ok, it might have something to do with that fucking crayon piano. But his voice also grates on my nerves like fingernails on a chalkboard so it might have something to do with that too. But the birds are kinda cool.

Leave a Reply

